Ergo, Blog.

It is December 28th, 2012. This is not quite a new year’s resolution. Nor is this blog a catch-all location for various projects.

Mostly, it is a place to put my response to medicine.

I’ve found that, so far, medicine has helped me forget what I care about most. My days are chockerblock with volume-heavy lectures and studying. Life has to take a back seat.

Appropriately enough, over this Christmas holiday, I had to complete a module on physician self-care, where I learned about physician-specific cognitive hiccups. One was the tendency to put things on the back burner—and I do mean things. Everythings, in fact. Medical people are, apparently, the kind of people who put off living life in the interest of building a career.

This is something that I have already noticed happening to me. I often think “yes, I would love to [verb], but I can’t really afford to do it until after [clerkship/residency/first couple years of medicine… ever].” I’ll bet it’s a nervous sort of survival trait, where I try to hoard as many resources I can for an undefined “long haul,” which will likely never come.

I have classmates who seem too busy for anything. I know physicians who never stop working, and I don’t know if it’s just their passion or good will. I don’t want to be one of those people.

Ergo, blog.

~Marie

Leave a Reply

