A Scheduling Comment

So, I’ve been a bit quiet on the blog lately, and I have a very good reason for that. Well, I always have a very good reason—med school. This time, though I have a particularly good one.

In preclinical years, we have a twelve-hour elective, which we can fill by simply shadowing or by participating in an elective. Now, I’ve technically done this elective already, but for various reasons, I’m not sure it counts, so right now I’ve crammed in a spirituality elective. As such, when I’m not doing my normal mad schedule, I’ve been shadowing chaplains left right and centre.

I’ll write a post about the elective experience when I’ve actually finished it. For now, I’m again a bit worried about a personal trend I’ve noticed.

For the past two weeks, I’ve actually had an eight-to-five schedule. Normally, I would get a couple hours off here and there. Two between class one day, one morning off while other people are doing clinical skills, etcetera. However, this week, I just happen to be scheduled during the full time, including my lunch hours.

I’m disappointed to say that it’s cost me in stamina incredibly.

Now, I’m almost napping all over the place, and I definitely don’t have the energy to study or do research in the evenings. I have an exam this Friday, and all I can hope at this point is that my stubbornness will fly in for the evening to save me again. I’m really looking forward to next week. It’s just a normal week, with a couple of free hours here and there that I can use to recharge.

I suppose that when I’ve worked previously, I’ve always had mandatory breaks, and right now I don’t have any. Still, I’m going into third year very, very soon, and I’m going to be working a lot more than I am now.

You might notice by the timing of this post that I’ve decided to sleep in a little bit today and watch the recorded version of the lecture that is presently happening in the katz building. This is a trick I’ve been using with a bit more frequency of late—and I dislike doing it, since the lectures are never quite as good when they’re recorded. However, I won’t have this luxury fairly soon.

When I’m feeling a bit down like this, I just think about what my first year public health lecturer said: each year of medical school is just slightly more stressful than the one before, to attenuate the student to residency and, eventually, the job.

It’s a great theory. I hope it works.

Leave a Reply

